Founded in Toronto in 1964 as a charitable organization to promote Chinese culture and heritage through caring for the elderly and nurturing the young, Mon Sheong Foundation provides programs and services to the elderly and to the young in response to the needs of Canada’s culturally diverse communities.

Created to commemorate our 50th anniversary, the Mon Sheong Golden Jubilee Scholarship is presented annually to students who demonstrate well-rounded excellence and desire to make real change-whether in their communities or around the world. The award recognizes outstanding achievement, commendable contributions, and the strength of personal character. We are proud to celebrate and support exemplary students by empowering them to reach their full potential.

Golden Jubilee Scholarship 2019 Winners with Prizes

This year, Mon Sheong is selecting 2 recipients for the Golden Jubilee Scholarship. Each recipient will receive $1,000 per year for the duration of their studies, up to a maximum of 4 years (subject to renewal requirements). The award is open to all students who are:

The award is open to all students who are:

1. Graduating from an Ontario high school or CEGEP with a minimum average of 80% among their top 6 grade 12 or CEGEP marks;
2. Enrolled full-time in a degree or diploma program at a recognized publicly funded Canadian university or college beginning Fall 2020; and
3. Aspiring to make a difference in their communities.
All applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.

Application deadline is extended to July 12, 2020

Award winners will be notified in August. The Award recipients will be informed individually.

Applications will be submitted online. A completed application will include the online application form and a PDF attachment:

  • Personal Information
  • Academic Information
  • Voluntary Community Involvement
    • This may include any volunteer experience, extracurricular activities, and leadership roles. As a charitable organization, we particularly value the impact of volunteerism and are interested in how you have taken the initiative to create change.
    • Voluntary involvement will be reviewed based on the number of hours and the quality of participation.
  • Short Essay
    • In no more than 500 words, answer: How would you like to make a difference? What motivates you to create this change? And how do you plan on making this happen?
    • This is where you can show us your individuality. We want to hear your story and what you have to offer. You will be evaluated based on your passion and persuasiveness, ability to communicate, and aspirations to make a difference.

PDF Attachment

  • Relevant Report Cards
    • This includes all final report cards with information about your top 6 grade 12 or CEGEP courses.
  • Reference Letter
    • Please enclose a reference letter (maximum of 2 pages) from someone who would be able to describe your attributes as a scholar, leader, and contributor to the community.
  • Applicant’s Declaration and Signature
    • Complete the Applicant’s Declaration and Signature page included in the information package.

2019 Recipients

Michal Moshkovich Golden Jubilee Scholarship 2019 Winner

Michal Moshkovich

McMaster University

Health Sciences

 William Lyon Mackenzie Collegiate Institute

Alan Tam Golden Jubilee Scholarship 2019 Winner

Alan Tam

University of Waterloo

Computer Science

Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts

2018 Recipients

Sarina Wong_cropped

Sarina Wong

University of Toronto

Philosophy and Public Policy

University of Toronto Schools

Selina Chow_cropped

Selina Chow

McMaster University

Health Sciences

Havergal College

Shahan Mahmood - Cropped

Shahan Mahmood

Queen’s University


Runnymede Collegiate Institute

2017 Recipients


Cassidy Bereskin

McMaster University

Social Sciences

North Toronto Collegiate Institute


Sophia Ge

Western University

Computer Science

Bayview Secondary School


Kate Kim

McMaster University

Integrated Science

Notre Dame Catholic Secondary School


Daniel Kwon

University of Waterloo

Systems Design Engineering

Bishop Allen Academy


Ben Levy

Queen’s University

Life Sciences

Thornhill Secondary School

Yasal Rajapaksa

Yasal Rajapaksa

Western University

Medical Sciences

Richmond Hill High School

2016 Recipients


Alvin Leung

Chinese University of Hong Kong

Medicine and Surgery

Iroquois Ridge High School


Joshua Tuazon

University of Ottawa

Health Sciences

St. John Paul II Catholic Secondary School